Golf Glance: $3M purse draws strong field to LPGA's Malaysia event

League: Golf

Posted on: 24 Oct, 2023 at 03:30 PM

Credit: John Jones-USA TODAY Sports

Field Level Media's Golf Glance provides weekly news and storylines from each of the major North American golf tours.

LAST TOURNAMENT: Zozo Championship (Collin Morikawa)
FedEx Cup Champion: Viktor Hovland
NEXT TOURNAMENT: World Wide Technology Championship, Los Cabos, Mexico, Nov. 2-5

LAST TOURNAMENT: BMW Ladies Championship (Minjee Lee)
THIS WEEK: Maybank Championship, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Oct. 26-29
Course: Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club (Par 72, 6,596 yards)
Purse: $3M (Winner: $450,000)
Defending Champion: Inaugural Event
Race to the CME Globe leader: Celine Boutier
TV/Streaming: Wednesday-Friday, 10 p.m.-3 a.m. ET; Saturday, 11 p.m.-4 a.m. (All times Golf Channel, Peacock)
X: @maybankchampionship
NOTES: This is the third of four events on the LPGA Tour's Asian swing and features one of the largest non-major purses on tour. The 78-player, no-cut event consists of 68 LPGA Tour players and 10 players invited by Maybank. The field includes 18 of the 20 winners on tour this year and six of the top 10 players in the Rolex Women's World Golf Rankings: Ruoning Yin (2), Jin Young Ko (3), Celine Boutier (5), Nelly Korda (6), Lydia Ko (9) and Allisen Corpuz (10). ... Three events remain before the season-ending CME Group Tour Championship. ... Boutier reclaimed the lead in the Race to the CME Globe from Lilia Vu with her tie for fifth at the BMW Ladies Championship. Vu leads the Rolex Player of the Year rankings ahead of Boutier, with Ruoning Yin third in both.
NEXT TOURNAMENT: Toto Japan Classic, Omitama, Ibaraki, Japan, Nov. 2-5

PGA Tour Champions
LAST TOURNAMENT: Dominion Energy Charity Classic (Harrison Frazar)
Charles Schwab Cup leader: Steve Stricker
NOTES: Stricker has clinched the Charles Schwab Cup title with two playoff events remaining.
NEXT TOURNAMENT: TimberTech Championship, Boca Raton, Fla., Nov. 3-5

LIV Golf League
THIS WEEK: Season Complete
Series Winners: Talor Gooch (Individual), Crushers GC (Team)

--Field Level Media