Jayden Daniels, Michael Penix Jr. snag pre-Heisman awards

League: NCAA Football

Posted on: 09 Dec, 2023 at 04:45 AM


LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels and Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr., both Heisman Trophy finalists, picked up other honors on Friday.

Daniels was selected the Walter Camp national player of the year as well and captured the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's best quarterback.

Penix captured the Maxwell Award, signifying the country's best player.

Daniels, a transfer from Arizona State, led the FBS in total offense (4,946) and had a hand in 50 touchdowns. He threw for 3,812 yards, 40 touchdowns and four interceptions while running for 1,134 yards and 10 scores.

Daniels also received the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award given to the best upperclassmen quarterback.

Penix topped the country with 4,218 passing yards while throwing for 33 touchdowns and getting picked off just nine times. He helped the Huskies (13-0) land a berth in the College Football Playoff.

Penix's head coach, Kalen DeBoer, was selected the Home Depot Coach of the Year.

Another Heisman finalist, Ohio State's Marvin Harrison Jr., captured the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver. Harrison recorded 67 catches for 1,211 yards and 14 touchdowns, with eight 100-yard games.

The fourth Heisman finalist, Oregon quarterback Bo Nix, received the William V. Campbell Trophy as the top scholar athlete.

The Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the top defensive player, and the Butkus Award, given to the best linebacker, went to North Carolina State's Payton Wilson. The senior registered six sacks, three interceptions, one forced fumble and 138 tackles.

UCLA's Laiatu Latu landed the Lombardi Award (best lineman) and the Ted Hendricks Award (best defensive end).

Other award winners:
--Doak Walker Award (best running back) -- Oklahoma State's Ollie Gordon II
--John Mackey Award (best tight end) -- Georgia's Brock Bowers
--Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) -- Texas defensive tackle T'Vondre Sweat
--Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player) -- Notre Dame safety Xavier Watts
--Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) -- Trey Taylor, Air Force
--Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player) -- Colorado receiver/defensive back Travis Hunter
--Rimington Trophy (best center) -- Oregon's Jackson Powers-Johnson
--Lou Groza Award (best kicker) -- Miami of Ohio's Graham Nicholson
--Ray Guy Award (best punter) -- Iowa's Tory Taylor
--Burlsworth Trophy (best player who started his career as a walk-on) -- Missouri's Cody Schrader
--Wuerffel Trophy (community service) -- Georgia's Ladd McConkey
--Broyles Award (top assistant coach) -- Iowa defensive coordinator Phil Parker

--Field Level Media