Nick Saban, Urban Meyer lead College FB HOF ballot

League: NCAA Football

Posted on: 03 Jun, 2024 at 03:57 PM

Credit: Rob Schumacher/The Republic / USA TODAY NETWORK

Coaches Nick Saban and Urban Meyer and defensive tackle Aaron Donald headline the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame ballot released Monday by the National Football Foundation.

The ballot, emailed to more than 12,000 NFF members, includes 77 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 34 coaches from the divisional ranks.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.7 million people have played college football and only 1,093 players have been inducted," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today's elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Class early next year."

The voting deadline is July 1, and the 2025 class will be officially inducted during the 67th CFF annual awards on Dec. 9, 2025, in Las Vegas.

Saban, Meyer and Donald made the ballot in their first year of eligibility.

Saban, who just retired after last season after 17 seasons at Alabama, boasts the most national championships in FBS history, winning four BCS titles and three CFP championships during his career.

Meyer finished his career with the third-highest winning percentage in FBS history (85.4 percent), winning two BCS national championships with Florida and the inaugural CFP title with Ohio State.

Donald was a 2013 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Bednarik, Lombardi, Nagurski and Outland trophies. Donald, who retired from the NFL after last season, remains Pitt's all-time leader in career (66) and single-season (28.5 in 2013) tackles for loss.

Other players on the ballot for the first time include 2012 Heisman Trophy runner-up Manti Te'o from Notre Dame, 2009 Heisman winner Mark Ingram from Alabama and former California wide receiver DeSean Jackson.

--Field Level Media