Top 10 highest powerplay scores in the IPL history – April 2024

League: IPL

Posted on: 21 Apr, 2024 at 04:36 AM

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a league synonymous with explosive batting and high-scoring matches. The powerplay, the first six overs where only limited fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle, is a crucial phase for batters to set the tone for the innings. Over the years, fans have witnessed some incredible powerplay displays, leaving bowlers helpless and fans awestruck. Let’s have a look at the highest powerplay scores in IPL history.

Top 10 highest powerplay scores in IPL

1. Sunrisers Hyderabad (125/0 vs Delhi Capitals, 2024)

This is the top spot, and it’s a recent one! In their match against Delhi Capitals in IPL 2024, Sunrisers Hyderabad went berserk. Openers Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head tore into the DC bowling attack, amassing a mammoth 125 runs without losing a wicket. Head, in particular, was on fire, scoring the fastest fifty for SRH in IPL 2024 (16 balls).

2. Kolkata Knight Riders (105/0 vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2017)

KKR openers went on a rampage against RCB in Bengaluru back in 2017. Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine provided a brutal display of power-hitting, reaching a score of 105 without losing a wicket in the powerplay.

3. Chennai Super Kings (100/2 vs Punjab Kings, 2014)

The Super Kings are known for their calculated batting approach, but in 2014 against Punjab Kings, they decided to go big. Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Smith unleashed their power, scoring a quickfire 100 runs with two wickets down in the powerplay.

4. Chennai Super Kings (90/0 vs Mumbai Indians, 2015)

CSK makes another appearance on this list! This time, it was the openers Brendon McCullum and Faf du Plessis who took the bowling attack to the cleaners. Their unbeaten 90-run stand in the powerplay laid the foundation for a big total against their arch-rivals Mumbai Indians.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders (88/1 vs Delhi Capitals, 2024)

This season of the IPL has been a treat for powerplay enthusiasts! In their encounter with DC, KKR batters put on a show, scoring a rapid 88 runs with just one wicket lost in the powerplay.

Also READ: Twitter reactions – SRH opener Travis Head’s explosive batting blows away DC at Arun Jaitley Stadium | IPL 2024

6. Kochi Tuskers Kerala (87/2 vs Rajasthan Royals, 2011)

Back in 2011, against the Royals, now defunct Kochi Tuskers Kerala got off to a flying start. Their batters amassed 87 runs with two wickets down in the powerplay, setting the pace for a Kochi victory.

7. Kolkata Knight Riders (86/0 vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru, 2024)

KKR features once again! In their 2024 match against RCB, Phil Salt and Sunil Narine stitched together a quickfire 86-run partnership in the powerplay.

8. Punjab Kings (86/1 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2014)

Punjab showcased their batting depth on this list. In their 2010 clash against the Sunrisers, PBKS batters provided a solid show, scoring 86 runs with just one wicket lost in the powerplay.

9. Rajasthan Royals (85/1 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2023)

The dangerous duo of Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal showcased their explosive batting against SRH in 2023. They reached a score of 85 runs in 5.4 overs. Though on the fifth delivery RR lost Buttler for 54.

10. Mumbai Indians (84/0 vs Delhi Capitals 2018)

Rounding out the list are Mumbai Indians. Openers Suryakumar Yadav and Evin Lewis surprised everyone with their aggressive batting against Delhi in 2018. They put on an unbeaten 84-run stand in the powerplay.

Also READ: IPL 2024 – BCCI takes action against Mumbai Indians for giving DRS signals to Suryakumar Yadav from the dugout